top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCarryn Clicks

Summer In Durban

Updated: Jul 16, 2018

My latest shoot was an Urban Fashion shoot of the lovely Summer du Preez at Wilson’s Wharf in Durban. Summer was looking for a magazine-style fashion shoot in a grungy urban location.


I did some research and we eventually decided that Wilson’s Wharf at the Durban Harbour would make for a really interesting and vibrant setting. This location, a popular dining and tourist spot, has such a variety of colours and moods, and is bursting with life.

Summer

Summer is a singer-songwriter from Pietermaritzburg and an aspiring fashion model, and wanted some new shots for her portfolio. I was happy to oblige. I assisted her with a little touch-up make-up in the shade of a shipping container. Summer has a radiant smile so my assistant and I tried our best to keep her amused throughout the day, to capture her laughter and radiance in the shots.




Windy Times

Though I love showing movement in my photos, the wind was blowing Summer’s hair around like crazy and we couldn’t see her face. I had to keep snapping away to catch a perfect moment.

Flocking Stubborn

We noticed a flock of pigeons down by the water just lazing around. I thought it would be great to get a picture of the birds flying up around Summer. We tried shouting but they would not budge. We tried throwing pebbles (without killing anything), but still no movement. Eventually, my assistant had to run at them, which worked, and I got the shot!



Dark Water

Sometimes I come up with crazy ideas. I thought it would be cool to get a shot of Summer wading through the harbour water. She didn’t hesitate to get knee-deep in the murky water, even with little fish (not seen in the photos) swimming around her feet. I was loving the look of these photos until two strangers came to warn us that the harbour water is not safe, is polluted, and can give you infections! Obviously her safety is my priority so I asked Summer to get out the water quickly. She did not get out quickly, she just calmly walked out with no worry in the world. I have since checked on Summer and she seems fine ;)



Endless Summer

I’m a selfie queen, so it’s my custom to get a photo of myself and the model at the end of a shoot. It’s inspiring working with a great subject in a picturesque setting, and I really like the energy in these shots. I look forward to working with Summer again soon.


Summer's Bio:

Summer du Preez is a 22 year old Pietermaritzburg girl who is full of life and passion. Creativity has always played a huge role in her life and it’s definitely one of her biggest assets. She is currently studying a course in Graphic Design, Fine Art and Animation and has an eye for all the finer details. Summer is also a Singer/songwriter who plays Indie/folk music and also loves to perform gigs on regular basis. Summer is very easy-going , down-to-earth and free-spirited. She lives for the moment and makes opportunities happen for herself. Summer also enjoys finding new and interesting ways to enjoy her life and to make it as adventurous as possible. One thing she says all the time is: one day when I look back on life, I want to have an interesting story to tell.


97 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page