top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCarryn Clicks

Power Couple


You already know that I love photography, but I have another love: fitness! I’ve been wanting to combine these two passions, and I finally got the chance this weekend.




Introducing the couple:


Jared is the current KZN heavyweight bodybuilding champion, and his fiancé Chennel is quickly making waves as powerlifting athlete. They also happen to be friends of mine, and I’ve been nudging them in the direction of doing a couple fitness shoot to commemorate their engagement.





Most fitness shoots are photographed in a gym, and I wanted to add something unique, so I thought of one of my favourite locations: Paradise Valley in Pinetown.




This nature reserve is usually quiet, calm and peaceful, but as we arrived and couldn’t find a parking, I got a bit anxious. Still, we set off on the 1km-or-so walk to the legendary waterfall where I was planning on taking most of the shots.




Miraculously, when we arrived at the waterfall, we were the only ones around. For about two minutes! The couple bravely entered the cold water and I started snapping. Suddenly, we were overcome by a crowd of dozens of people, swimming into my shots, diving, doing somersaults and splashing around. When my camera got wet from a stray splash, I knew it was time for Plan B. Luckily, I still managed to get a few striking shots before we were completely swarmed.




We found some lovely, more private locations at the bridge and rocks upstream from the waterfall. The lighting here was consistent and I was able to get into a rhythm and a flow.







I wanted to tell a story in this shoot about the love and support between the couple. Instead of just having them pose and look sexy, I asked them to interact with one another, doing push-ups, lifts and helping each other as they would in day-to-day life. Jared and Chen were great to work with and had such presence. Their strength is clear to see but I also wanted to capture their tenderness for one another.











Finally, I couldn’t resist having a photo taken with the two, who lifted me up as if I were a feather. After having spent the afternoon doing exercises for the camera, Jared now had to lift me up until I got that ‘perfect shot’. Sorry Jared! And thanks to my helpful assistant Rowan for taking the shot, and helping with suggestions and poses throughout the day.


You can follow the amazing Chennel and Jared on - http://fitguruconsulting.co.za/


If you’d like to book your own unique portraiture shoot, email me on carrynvl87@gmail.com





226 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page