top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCarryn Clicks

Misty Mountain Wedding



I recently documented the intimate outdoor wedding of Caitlyn and Stephen Shepard.


It was an atmospheric, misty and chilly day, and the ceremony took place high up on a beautiful hill in Monteseel, KwaZulu-Natal.



Light rain was starting to fall, so after saying their vows, the couple took refuge in Steve's best man's bakkie to sign the marriage papers. Sometimes you've got to improvise! It's little unplanned moments like this that make each wedding unique and memorable.



It was time to celebrate, pop the champagne bottles, cut the cake and eat some yummy cupcakes.



The cake was shaped like a heart and decorated in pink and white frosting. This was definitely little Bailey's (Steve and Cait's son) favourite part of the wedding.



I then took some group shots of the newlyweds with their guests. I asked them to pose at the edge of a really high cliff, but don't worry - it was safer than it looks. It was definitely fun capturing all the post-ceremony happiness.





While the guests mingled, I headed off with Cait and Steve to take some 'couple' photographs.


Although it was cold, I convinced Cait to take off her shawl so I could photograph her wedding dress. It reminded me of a Marilyn Monroe dress - don't you think?




Next we did some classic family photos with Bailey on a field. He absolutely loved running around and jumping in the tall grass with his mom and dad.



My partner Rowan suggested we head over to the nearby dirt road to take a few more photos of the couple. I really like how these turned out.




We had Cait sit on a tree stump for a few photos and these are probably some of my favourites from the day. I think she looked stunning.




Oh, and I even got a chance to have a photo (actually a lot of photos) with the bride. In one photo we looked like we were the newlyweds! Haha sorry, Steve - I stole your wife for a moment.



It was time to wrap up, as the wedding party headed out of the cold and off to the next venue to continue celebrating.



This was a really fun, easy and relaxed wedding to photograph, and it shows that you don't need hundreds of guests and huge chapels to make for a special big day.


Congratulations and many happy years to you, Stephen and Caitlyn!!



And of course, if you'd like to book my photographic services for your own big day, or other event, you can send me an email to carrynclicks@gmail.com :)

343 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page