top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCarryn Clicks

A Twist In The Fairy-Tale


Last weekend I did a creative shoot for my friend Cherie. I've been eager to do a 'fairy-tale' type shoot lately, and Cherie was keen on the idea too, even though she'd never done a professional photo shoot before.




From past location-hunting, I knew the forest near the Kloof SPCA would be the

perfect location, with its mystical trees, wooden bridges over gentle streams, sunlight peeking through the leaves, and pools of water.



I offered to do Cherie's make-up and decided on a more natural look. Often more is more in photos, but this time subtlety felt like the right choice. We went through some clothing options, tried a gothic black dress, but ended up sticking with an earthy green/blue look instead that stood out beautifully against the forest background.



We decided off with the sparkly shoes, and our fairy-tale princess became a forest-dwelling nature girl instead. It just worked better for Cherie. But something was missing. My assistant was quick to hand over his "bling" - a necklace and bracelets - for Cherie to wear. The green crystal necklace looked great and completed the 'tree girl' character.




Aware that Cherie had never done a professional shoot before, and that the camera can be daunting, we spoke a lot, made her laugh and relax, and soon she was posing like a pro model.


So my planned 'fairy-tale' theme became more of a 'nature girl' theme in the end - but I think it was for the best! Sometimes, despite your plans, you have to let a photo shoot evolve naturally, you have to go with the flow, and you end up with better pictures in the end.



I added a little post-production magic and colour adjustment to give the pictures a timeless quality, and I'm pleased with the result.





Thanks to Cherie for walking through mud, lying on uncomfortable roots and being a great sport.



Before we ended the day, Cherie and I decided to have a friendship shoot. @rowanstuart was kind enough to assist and take some lovely shots for us.




Check out the full size images on my PORTRAITS page.

167 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page